About Us

Board of Directors


The V Foundation Board of Directors is entrusted with and accountable for the strategic leadership and governance of the organization. The Board is comprised of prominent business leaders, award-winning athletes and coaches, distinguished physicians and world-renowned entertainers. Their governance is integral to the sustainability and long-term effectiveness of The V Foundation in ways that are consistent with our core values and principles.

Jim Allegro, Emeritus Director
Retired Executive Vice President
ESPN, Inc.

Julie Allegro
Founder & General Partner

Robert C. Bast Jr., M.D.
Vice President for Translational Research
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

George Bodenheimer
Retired Executive Chairman
ESPN, Inc.

Steven M. Bornstein
Board Chair
The V Foundation for Cancer Research

George W. Dennis III
Retired Senior Partner
Teague Campbell Dennis & Gorham, LLP

David B. Fay
Retired Executive Director
United States Golf Association

Rosa M. Gatti
Retired Senior Vice President, Communications Counsel and Corporate Outreach
ESPN, Inc.

Evan Goldberg
Founder, Chief Technology Officer
Chairman of the Board
NetSuite, Inc.

Mark King 
adidas Group North America

Michael W. Krzyzewski
Head Coach, Men’s Basketball
Duke University

Carl C. Liebert III
EVP and Chief Operating Officer
USAA Capital Corporation

Joe Loughrey
Retired President & Vice Chairman
Cummins, Inc.

Michael C. Mac Donald
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Geoffrey S. Mason
Senior Production Specialist
ESPN, Inc.

Joseph O. Moore, M.D.
Medical Director
Duke Raleigh Cancer Hospital
Professor of Medicine
Duke Cancer Institute

Robert C. Nakasone
Retired Chief Executive Officer
Toys “R” Us

Donna Orender
Chief Executive Officer
Orender Unlimited, LLC

Kevin Plank
Chief Executive Officer
Under Armour, Inc.

Lawrence F. Probst III
Chairman of the Board
Electronic Arts

Harry E. Rhoads, Jr.
Chief Executive Officer
Washington Speakers Bureau

Robin Roberts
ABC’s “Good Morning America”

John Saunders
Sports Commentator
ESPN, Inc. and ABC Sports

Constance Skidmore
Retired Managing Partner, Board Member

John Skipper
ESPN, Inc.

Anthony F. Smith, Ed.D.
Managing Director
Leadership Research Institute

Pamela Valvano Strasser
The V Foundation for Cancer Research

Stuart A. Taylor II
Chief Executive Officer
The Taylor Group

Nicholas P. Valvano
President Emeritus
The V Foundation for Cancer Research

Robert Valvano
College Basketball Analyst
Host of “The V Show”
ESPN, Inc.

Lesley Visser
Sports Commentator
CBS and HBO Sports

Dick Vitale
Sports Commentator
ESPN, Inc. and ABC Sports

R.C. “Bucky” Waters
Retired Vice Chancellor of Development
Duke University Medical Center
Sports Commentator
ESPN & Madison Square Garden

Robert P. Wayman
Retired Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President
Hewlett-Packard Company

Dereck Whittenburg
Associate Athletic Director for Community Relations and Student Support
North Carolina State University

David W. Williams
Retired Senior Vice President
Whirlpool Corporation

Norby Williamson
Executive Vice President, Production, Program Scheduling and Development
ESPN, Inc.

Larry Woodard
President and Chief Executive Officer
Graham Stanley Advertising





George Bodenheimer

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) announced that George Bodenheimer, former ESPN President, CEO and Executive Chairman, member of the Denison University class of 1980 and Denison Trustee, will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for Sports at the 36th annual Sports Emmy® Awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 5, 2015 at the Lincoln Center in New York City.

George Bodenheimer’s book Every Town is a Sports Town was also recently published and is available for purchase at booksellers nationwide.


Mike Krzyzewski

“Coach K” led his Duke Blue Devils to victory in the 2015 NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship, bringing home his fifth national title. On January 25, 2015 he became the first men’s coach to win 1,000 NCAA Division 1 basketball games.


John Skipper
The ESPN President ranked number 2 among the 50 most influential people in sports business.